Grade 4 - Le Morte d'Arthur

Composer: Hamish Reeves

Grade: Grade 4

Category: Wind Ensemble

Additional Notes:

Sale price$150.00 AUD

Shipping calculated at checkout




Hamish Reeves is an emerging composer from Sydney, Australia.

Le Morte d’Arthur was a piece inspired by the Medieval tale that shares the same name. Le Morte d’Arthur tells the story of King Arthur and of his journey from princehood to kingship, and to an eventual martyrdom. This piece begins on a misty morning, quiet and still, following the end of what would become Arthur’s final battle. As the mist clears, and the barely victorious army searches for their king, they find him gravely wounded and mourn what would be the loss of their great king. Although his people could not know at the time, Arthur’s story would go on to become legend, inspiring those who look to him and being retold for generations to come. This piece captures the tale in 3 distinct sections: the still morning, the death of Arthur, and the triumphant future that was yet to come.

- Hamish Reeves

Duration 5:20 min

Instrumentation: Picc, Fl 1 2, Ob, Bsn, Eb Clar, Cl 1 2 3, Bs Cl, A Sx 1 2, T Sx, B Sx, F Hn 1 2, Tpt 1 2 3, Tbn 1 2 3, Bs Tbn, Euph, Tuba, Timp, Bs Dr, Cym, T-Tam, Glock, Vib, Tub Bells, Crot

Recently viewed