Grade 5 - Ice: Keeper Of Ancient Secrets

Composer: Matt Klohs

Grade: Grade 5

Category: Wind Ensemble

Additional Notes:

Sale price$175.00 AUD

Shipping calculated at checkout



Movement 4 of Symphony #1 "H2O". 

Glacial Ice is the "keeper of ancient secrets" and has been researched for hundreds of years. We learn much from samples taken from deep within ancient ice and can look back into the deep past. There are lessons to be gleaned by us all in the information kept silently entombed for aeons, and we must use this information to find a collaborative way forwards with our intended slowing of climate  change and the best utilisation of the limited resources remaining on our planet.

On a more artistic level, Ice is both full of majesty and strength. It is incredibly beautiful and yet can be dangerous to us. It can be paper-thin or kilometres thick. It is a material of great mystery. I hope this final movement of H2O not only concludes the Symphony in a towering wall of sound, but brings the various forms of water back to our minds as component parts of what eventually becomes Ice. 

Duration 8:20 min

Instrumentation: Picc, Fl 1 2, Ob 1 2, Cor Ang, Bsn 1 2, CBsn, Cl 1 2 3, Bs Cl, A Sx 1 2, T Sx, B Sx, F Hn 1 2 3 4, Tpt 1 2 3, Tbn 1 2, B Tbn, Euph (TC part included), Tba, Dbl Bs, Tymp, BD, Tt, Cym, Glock, Mar, Vib, Crot, Piano (opt.), Pipe Organ (opt.)                      

Recently viewed