String Orchestra - Intermediate - Tallow Woods

Composer: Adele Mitchell

Grade: Intermediate

Category: String Orchestra

Additional Notes: Arranged by Matt Klohs

Sale price$80.00 AUD

Shipping calculated at checkout


Written for the 2023 Australian Inclusive Composition Award

NB - PDF Delivery Only 


Tallow Woods was written by Adele at just 16 years of age, and takes inspiration from the serene beauty of a farm in Queensland’s Sunshine Coast hinterland also named Tallow Woods. The work begins with an evocative bird call heard by the composer at sunrise, capturing the essence of a peaceful sunrise on the farm—a moment of reflection and connection. As the work unfolds, the listener is transported to the heart of Tallow Woods, sharing in the composer’s personal experience of spending time with close friends in this idyllic setting.
The second section serves as a musical portrayal of the sun’s rays breaking over the forested hills, symbolizing the dawning of a new day. Bold and triumphant, the music celebrates the majesty of nature and the joy of shared moments with friends. Tallow Woods is a musical memory of a farm, a sunrise, and the enduring bonds of friendship. 

Duration 4:30 min


Instrumentation: Violin 1a 1b, Violin 2a 2b, Viola, Cello 1 2, Double Bass

Recently viewed