Symphony Orchestra - Advanced - The Ghost Of Jupiter

Composer: Levi Whitworth

Grade: Advanced / Professional

Category: Symphony Orchestra

Additional Notes: Arr. Matt Klohs

Sale price$150.00 AUD

Shipping calculated at checkout


Duration: Approximately 5:00min



"The Ghost Of Jupiter" is taken from the suite "NEBULAE", winner of the 2023 Adelaide Wind Orchestra Composition Contest. Levi Whitworth's masterwork recalls both the new and the old, with allusions to a time long past and a time yet to be. The journey is exciting, energetic, and mysterious; all the while being not of this Earth, but rather taking us out into the greater universe and deep space. It peaks our curiousity about the idea of travelling through space at ultra-high speeds, whilst we still remind ourselves of things and places closer to home. 

With this, his debut published major work, Levi has been justly rewarded for his outstanding writing, as well as the fascinating subject matter featured within. His use of the motif from the opening of "Jupiter" embues an ancient and yet familiar sound to the movement, whilst he treats it creatively, changing the way we perceive that memory, almost creating a sense of deja vu.

This final movement, presented as a stand-alone work, is perfect for performances by serious ensembles all around the world, and we hope your musicians and audiences revel in Levi's expert craftsmanship.

This work was originally composed for Wind Ensemble and has been painstakingly arranged for Symphony Orchestra by Matt Klohs. 


Instrumentation: Fl 1 2 3 (dbl Picc), Ob 1 2, Eng Hn, Bsn 1 2, Cbsn, Bb Clar 1 2, Bs Clar, F Horn 1 2 3 4, C Tpt 1(dbl. Eb) 2 3, Tbn 1 2, Bs Tbn, Tuba, Timp, Sn Dr, Bs Dr, Sus Cym, Glock, Crotales, Harp, Celesta, Piano, Violin 1a 1b 2a 2b, Viola, Violoncello 1 2, Double Bass

Recently viewed